beauty

Hairspiration: Upside-Down Braids

When it comes to wearing my hair up, I usually stop at a ponytail. I can’t french braid my own hair to save my life, an attribute I associate with not having an older sister whose friends considered me their life-like doll. And sometimes a top knot gives me a disturbing teletubbie vibe…think about it…uncanny similarities.

Processed with VSCO with tech preset

When I woke up this morning, I realized my overnight braids had been too far back on my head, leaving me with a very flat front section. But knowing that I would be shooting that morning, a scrappy bun or ponytail just wasn’t going to cut it. As I stood in front of the bathroom mirror with no game plan, what materialized were two surprisingly well-constructed upside-down braids.

I like these both in two separate parts but am an even bigger fan of connecting the braids together at the nape of the neck for a Victorian glam girl look. This style was super versatile and stayed in ALL day, even after a workout at the gym. With both form and function covered, safe to say these will be a new favorite.

Leave a Reply

